book thoughts: UNWHOLLY by Neal Shusterman

UnWholly (Unwind, #2)UnWholly by Neal Shusterman

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

When I heard Shusterman was writing a sequel to UNWIND, I cringed.  It was not supposed to have a  sequel.  I was concerned that Neal had fallen upon hard times and his publishers were just trying to milk his award-winning book book for more…

WOW, was I wrong.

UNWHOLLY was fantastic.  I haven’t read a book that kept me on the edge of my seat in a long time.  We find out about the aftermath of the Happy Jack Harvest Camp showdown and how it effected the rest of the world.  And we finally get some insight into how Unwinding came to be.  We meet up with favorite characters from UNWIND but we meet several new ones. 

The book cover is devoid of color, a boy’s face in shadow, and it fits – this story is all about navigating gray areas and trying to bring the truth to light.  What makes it all so eerie is how plausible it still seems.  How easily something that sounds horrific can become the status quo.  How history is written by the victors.  And how easy it is to bury the truth.

If you’ve read UNWIND, you NEED to read UNWHOLLY. 

View all my reviews

One thought on “book thoughts: UNWHOLLY by Neal Shusterman

  1. Pingback: Book Series Thoughts: Unwind Dystology by Neal Shusterman | Read. Watch. Blog

Leave a Reply

