books read in September

September was a month of children’s fiction. My reading was firmly planted in the land of late elementary and middle school. It was not planned, it just happened. I did listen to one adult fiction title and it was a pleasant surprise. And I picked up the latest graphic novel by Bryan Lee O’Malley, which is definitely for adults. I have already started an adult book that I’m hoping to finish for the October list because I really should read something from that side of the library!

Then again, the new Scott Westerfeld just showed up on my desk today and Undivided comes out in two weeks…**Sigh** at least those are YA!

SistersSisters by Raina Telgemeier

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Another strong story from Raina Telgemeier’s childhood that will still strike a chord with tween today because siblings, especially little sisters, will always have a very unique dynamic. And growing up will never be easy. Plus a family road trip and reunion? Always traumatizing, no matter when it happened. Smile is still my favorite but Sisters is really good too.

SecondsSeconds by Bryan Lee O’Malley

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I don’t know what it was about “Seconds” but I just loved it. I think I loved how you don’t exactly love the main character, she has some major flaws (which is apparently O’Malley’s speciality – crafting characters I am both frustrated by but identify with too?)

Honestly, I didn’t know anything about this book except that it was the new Bryan Lee O’Malley and I loved going into it totally unaware and being surprised by the twists and turns.

Moldylocks and the Three Beards (Princess Pink and the Land of Fake Believe, #1)Moldylocks and the Three Beards by Noah Z. Jones

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I was sold on this from page one, mostly because Princess Pink has a Darth Vader drawing on her wall. But also because this clever book will find its way into the hands of little girls obsessed with Princesses only to turn the story around on theme, with this adventurous girl who has no problem getting dressing up as a hairy caveman dinosaur hunter and splashing in cold chili.

I think kids will really enjoy the fractured fairy tales and the play on a story they are probably very familiar with.

Cute, funny, and perfect for kids who are ready to move from easy readers into very basic chapter books.

Bandette, Volume 1: Presto!Bandette, Volume 1: Presto! by Colleen Coover

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is really cute, I can’t think of any other way to describe it. Bandette is so adorable, her town so French, everyone so charming. It was a lot of fun to read and I will pick up the sequel.

One More Thing: Stories and Other StoriesOne More Thing: Stories and Other Stories by B.J. Novak

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This collection of short stories, read aloud by the author and some of his famous friends, was a real treat. I feel like I need to star each story separately as some I really enjoyed, others were cute, and a few were sorta…ok.

…actually, there are too many stories to do that! Some of the stories are 5 stars in my book, great to read, even room for discussion afterwards, some are just hilarious one-offs that exist only for the punchline, and others are more shaggy dog stories that kind of go on for awhile but the pay off isn’t that great.

I HIGHLY recommend listening to this because of Novak & Co.s readings. Rainn Wilson, Mindy Kaling, Jason Schwartzman and more make this a treat to hear. (though looking at the table of contents, it appears the audio is in a different order than the physical book? WEIRD.)

Phoebe and Her Unicorn: A Heavenly Nostrils ChroniclePhoebe and Her Unicorn: A Heavenly Nostrils Chronicle by Dana Simpson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

At first, I didn’t think this bright pink book with a unicorn on the cover was for me. Then I saw the unicorn’s name “Marigold Heavenly Nostrils” and started to flip through the book. And THEN I saw the introduction by Peter Beagle and KNEW I had to give this a read. I’m so glad I did! This book is cute and clever and a fun collection of comic strips about a little girl who befriends a unicorn after hitting it in the head with a rock. I was giggling the whole time I read this. Great for kids and young at heart.

OH! Apparently this is a syndicated comic strip and this book is the first collection. If you need more (like I did) you can find them here:
http://www.gocomics.com/heavenly-nost…

Little Red Quacking Hood (Princess Pink and the Land of Fake Believe #2)Little Red Quacking Hood by Noah Z. Jones

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Not quite as adorkable as the first one, but still a fun read and perfect for a new-to-chapter books reader. I do love Princess Pink and her aversion to all things pink LOL. I hope to see a few kids dressed as Moldylocks when Halloween rolls around in a few weeks.

LootLoot by Jude Watson

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

“Loot: How to steal a fortune” is a great read for middle school age kids who are into mystery, suspense, and thrillers. The story opens with the death of March’s master thief father and we follow March as he tries to unravel the events that lead up to that night.

This was my first Jude Watson book (I’ve read both of her the Judy Blundell young adult titles). She does a good job of writing for a younger age group without talking down. The short chapters make this book a really easy read (each chapter is 2-4 pages) so even reluctant readers will find this hard to put down.

The title leaves something to be desired, as does the cover. It doesn’t quite capture the intrigue and dark moments hidden in these pages.

What did you read this month?

Leave a Reply

